Seventy six members of Louisiana House of Representatives (including 11 having Damascus Road Experiences) fall all over themselves to increase sales taxes on Louisiana citizens by $40,000 per hour beginning 7/1/18.

Rep. Lance Harris, sponsor HB-27 , which would raise Louisiana’s sales tax by 1/3 cent and “clean” two cents of existing sales taxes and thereby raise approximately $380 million, or $40,000 PER HOUR from taxpayers!

 

On Monday, May 28, 2018, 76 members of the Louisiana House of Representatives, including 11 who had “Damascus Road Experiences” and voted for the first time (out of four opportunities in 2018) to increase Louisiana’s sales taxes effective July 1, 2018.  The amount of that increase, using the sponsor of HB-27, Rep. Lance Harris’, own numbers?  Just north of $40,000 per hour!!

A brief lead-up to the vote, some brief commentary by Rep. Harris entailing “Facebook posters” whom he seems to infer need to be “ignored ” as “noise” so that the important people, state lawmakers, can “stay focused on the main thing” are depicted in the following brief video clip

 

(Editor’s Note:  for those who have asked, an individual close to Rep. Harris has indicated that his commentary depicted in the video below was not directed at our Sunday post.  Rather, it was directed at some folk who apparently engaged in vicious name-calling directed at Rep. Harris personally.  We feel it was a mistake for Rep. Harris to dignify such actions by addressing them on the House floor, but given the number of inquiries we got, we also wanted to make it clear that he’s indicated his commentary was NOT directed at us from the 5/27/18 post.)

 

Brief video of lead-up to and actual vote by Louisiana House on 5/28/18 on HB-27. Support Link:

No Penny Renewal (FULLY updated with Representatives who voted “yes” on 5/28 highlighted in yellow).

 

 

Itemization of Louisiana Representatives having a “Damascus Road Experience” and voting For HB-27 for the FIRST time (out of four opportunities):


(Red = Representative is term-limited and cannot run for re-election in 2019).

 

 

Rep. Joseph Bouie, Jr., D-New Orleans
District 97
Phone:  (504) 285-1033  bouiej@legis.la.gov 

Rep. Barbara Carpenter D-Baton Rouge
District 63
Phone:  (225) 771-5674  carpenterb@legis.la.gov 

Rep. Royce Duplesis D-New Orleans
District 93
Phone:  (504) 568-2740  duplesisr@legis.la.gov 

Rep. A. B. Franklin D-Lake Charles
District 34
Phone:  (337) 491-2320  franklina@legis.la.gov 

Rep. Jimmy Harris, D-New Orleans
District 99
Phone:  (504) 243-1960  jharris@legis.la.gov 

Rep. Kenny Havard, R-Jackson
District 62
Phone:  (225) 634-7470  havardk@legis.la.gov 

Rep. Terry Landry, Sr., D-New Iberia
District 96
Phone:  (337) 373-9380  landryt@legis.la.gov 

Rep. Walt Leger, III D-New Orleans
District 91
Phone:  (504) 556-9970  legerw@legis.la.gov 

Rep. Dustin Miller D-Opelousas
District 40
Phone:  (337) 943-2900  dmiller@legis.la.gov 

Rep. Vincent Pierre D-Lafayette
District 44
Phone:  (337) 262-2330  vpierre@legis.la.gov 

Rep. Patricia Smith D-Baton Rouge
District 67
Phone:  (225) 342-7106  smithp@legis.la.gov 

Final tally by party affiliation:

 

February 28, 2018 vote:

Democrat       4
Independent   1
Republican    33

TOTAL        38 (there were 67 “no” votes.)

 

March 4, 2018 vote:

Democrat      12
Independent   2
Republican    19

TOTAL        33 (there were 70 “no” votes.)

 

May 25, 2018 vote:

Democrat       21
Independent     3
Republican     40

TOTAL        64 (there were 38 “no” votes.)

 

May 28, 2018 vote:

Democrat       33
Independent     3
Republican     40

TOTAL        76 (there were 28 “no votes.”)

 

If you would like to be added to our Sound Off Louisiana email list to be notified of future posts, simply go to our home page and scroll to the bottom (mobile devices) or to the top of the right-hand column (desktops).  Supply your email address within the subscribe box.  You’ll then receive an automated email from Word Press, and all you have to do is click on the blue “confirm follow” bar contained within that email, and you’ll begin receiving great posts such as the preceding one above.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.