Upcoming showdown on bill to raise Louisiana’s sales tax may well be a career-ending vote for some Louisiana legislators.

Rep. Lance Harris, sponsor HB-27 , which would raise Louisiana’s sales tax by 1/3 cent and “clean” two cents of existing sales taxes and thereby raise approximately $380 million.

 


Burns previews the upcoming showdown vote on HB-27 and its potential to end the careers of some Louisiana legislators.  Support Links:

No Penny Renewal website.

AFP’s taker’s dozen.

 

Duplication of vote accountability on NoPennyRenewal website:

Louisiana State Representatives voting for renewing:


1/4 of the one cent sales tax (2/28/18 & 3/4/18 votes)

AND  /   OR

1/3 of the one cent sales tax (5/25/18 vote):


(Red = Representative is term-limited and cannot run for re-election in 2019).

 

 

 

Rep. Mark Abraham, R-Lake Charles,
District 36
Phone:  (337) 475-3016 abrahamm@legis.la.gov  

Voted Yes ALL THREE TIMES: 2/28/18 (1/4 cent), 3/4/18 (1/4 cent), 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

Declared a member of AFP’s taker’s dozen.

 

 

Rep. Neil Abramson, D-New Orleans
District 98
Phone:  (504) 275-8051  abramson@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent) & 3/4/18 (1/4 cent).

 

 

Rep. John Anders, D-Vidalia
District 21
Phone:  (318) 336-5865  larep021@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes on 3/4/18 (1/4 cent) and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. James Arms, III, D-Leesville
District 30
Phone:  (337) 238-7004  armesj@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes on 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

 

Rep. Tony Bacala, R-Prairieville
District 59
Phone:  (225)677-8020   bacalat@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent) and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Larry Bagley, R-Stonewall
District 7
Phone:  (318)925-9588   bagleyl@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent) and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Taylor Barras (House Speaker), R-New Iberia
District 48
Phone:  (337) 373-4051  barrast@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent) and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. John Bagneris, D-New Orleans
District 100
Phone:  (504) 243-7783  bagnerisj@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. John Berthelot, R-Gonzales
District 88
Phone:  (225) 647-5646  berthelotj@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent) and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Robert Billot, D-Westwego
District 83
Phone:  (504) 436-8929  billiotr@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes on 3/4/18 (1/4 cent) and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Stuart Bishop, R-Lafayette
District 43
Phone:  (337) 981-7409  bishops@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent) and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Notation Only:  Rep. Chris Broadwater, R-Hammond, who resigned right after 2/28/18 vote, was replaced by Rep. Nicholas Muscarello, Jr. (see entry below).
for District 86. Voted Yes on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent).

————————————————————————————————————————————————–

 

Rep. Ken Brass, D-Vacherie
District 58
Phone:  (225) 265-9005  brassk@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

Rep. Chad Brown, D-Plaquemine
District 60
Phone:  (225) 687-2410  brownc@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 3/4/18 (1/4 cent) and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Terry Brown, I-Colfax
District 22
Phone:  (855) 261-6566  browntr@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 3/4/18 (1/4 cent) and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

Rep. Thomas Carmody, R-Shreveport
District 6
Phone:  (318) 862-9956  carmodyt@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes ALL THREE TIMES on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent), 3/4/18 (1/4 cent), and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

Rep. Robby Carter, D-Amite
District 72
Phone:  (985)748-2245 carterr@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 3/4/18 (1/4 cent) and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Steve Carter, R-Baton Rouge
District 68
Phone:  (225)362-5305  carters@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes ALL THREE TIMES on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent), 3/4/18 (1/4 cent), and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Charles Chaney, R-Rayville
District 19
Phone:  (318)728-5875 chaneyb@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes ALL THREE TIMES on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent), 3/4/18 (1/4 cent), and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

Rep. Patrick Connick, R-Marrero
District 84
Phone:  (504)371-0240  connickp@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes ALL THREE TIMES on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent), 3/4/18 (1/4 cent), and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Jean-Paul Coussan, R-Lafayette
District 45
Phone:  (337) 262-2400  coussanjp@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Kenny Cox, D-Natchitoches
District 23
Phone:  (855) 844-8583  coxk@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

Rep. Michael Danahay, D-Sulphur
District 33
Phone:  (337) 527-5581  danahaym@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent).  SEAT NOW VACANT.

 

Rep. Paula Davis, R-Baton Rouge
District 69
Phone:  (225)362-5301  davisp@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes ALL THREE TIMES on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent), 3/4/18 (1/4 cent), and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

Rep. Phillip DeVillier, R-Eunice
District 41
Phone:  (337)457-0194   devillierp@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent) and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Stephen Dwight, SPONSOR OF 1/4 cent BILL, R-Lake Charles
District 35
Phone:  (337)491-2315 dwights@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes ALL THREE TIMES on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent), 3/4/18 (1/4 cent), and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Franklin Foil, R-Baton Rouge
District 70
Phone:  (225)342-6777 foilf@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes ALL THREE TIMES on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent), 3/4/18 (1/4 cent), and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Randal Gaines, D-LaPlace
District 57
Phone:  (985) 652-1228  gainesr@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

Rep. Jerry Gisclair, D-LaRose
District 54
Phone:  (985)798-7707  gisclairj@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes on 3/4/18 (1/4 cent) and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. John E. “Johnny” Guinn, R-Jennings
District 37
Phone:  (337) 824-0376  guinnj@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes ALL THREE TIMES on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent), 3/4/18 (1/4 cent), and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Jeffrey Hall, D-Alexandria
District 26
Phone:  (318) 487-5661  hallj@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Lance Harris, SPONSOR OF 1/3 cent BILL, R-Alexandria
District 25
Phone:  (318) 767-6095  harrisl@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent) and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Lowell “Chirs” Hazel, R-Pineville
District 27
Phone:  (318)767-6082  hazelc@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes ALL THREE TIMES on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent), 3/4/18 (1/4 cent), and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Bob Hensgens, R-Abbeville
District 47
Phone:  (337) 893-5035  hensgensb@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Stephanie Hilferty, R-Metairie
District 94
Phone:  (504) 885-4154 hilfertys@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes ALL THREE TIMES on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent), 3/4/18 (1/4 cent), and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Dorothy Hill, D-Dry Creek
District 32
Phone:  (800)259-2118 hilld@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes ALL THREE TIMES on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent), 3/4/18 (1/4 cent), and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Frank Hoffmann, R-West Monore
District 15
Phone:  (318)362-4130  hoffmannf@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes ALL THREE TIMES on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent), 3/4/18 (1/4 cent), and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

 

Rep. Frank Howard, R-Many
District 24
Phone:  (318) 256-4135  howardf@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

Rep. Mike Huval, R-Breaux Bridge
District 46
Phone:  (337) 332-3331  huvalm@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Katrina Jackson, D-Monroe
District 16
Phone:  (318) 343-2877  jacksonk@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

Rep. Patrick Jefferson D-Homer
District 11
Phone:  (318) 927-2519  jeffersonpo@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Sam Jenkins, D-Shreveport
District 2
Phone:  (318) 632-5970  hallj@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

Rep. Robert Johnson, D-Marksville
District 28
Phone:  (318) 253-8891  hallj@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

Rep. Sam Jones, D-Franklin
District 50
Phone:  (337) 828-7778 joness@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes on 3/4/18 (1/4 cent) and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

Rep. Nancy Landry, R-Lafayette
District 31
Phone:  (337)262-2252  landryn@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent) and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. H. Bernard LeBas, D-Ville Platte
District 38
Phone:  (337)363-0152  lebasb@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes on 3/4/18 (1/4 cent) and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Christopher Leopold, R-Belle Chase
District 105
Phone:  (504)393-5649  leopoldc@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent) and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

 

Rep. Rodney Lyons, D-Harvey
District 87
Phone:  (504) 510-5417  hallj@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Tanner Magee, R-Houma
District 53
Phone:  (985) 858-2970 mageet@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent) and 3/4/18 (1/4 cent).

 

Rep. Joseph Marino, I-Gretna
District 85
Phone:  (504) 361-6013 marinoj@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes ALL THREE TIMES 2/28/18 (1/4 cent), 3/4/18 (1/4 cent), and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Jack McFarland, R-Jonesboro
District 13
Phone:  (318) 259-4275  mcfarlandj@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes ALL THREE TIMES on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent), 3/4/18 (1/4 cent), and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

Rep. Greg Miller, R-NORCO
District 56
Phone:  (985) 764-9991  millerg@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes ALL THREE TIMES on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent), 3/4/18 (1/4 cent), and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Jim Morris, R-Oil City
District 1
Phone:  (318)995-6852  larep001@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent) & 3/4/18 (1/4 cent).

 

Rep. Nicholas Muscarello, Jr., R-Hammond
District 86
Phone:  (985) 974-0009  muscarellon@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

SPECIAL NOTE:  Rep. Muscarello was elected to replace Chris Broadwater (see above) and therefore was NOT in the Legislature to cast votes on 2/28/18 nor 3/4/18.

 

 

Rep. Barbara Norton, D-Shreveport
District 26
Phone:  (318) 632-5887  nortonb@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Kevin Pearson, R-Slidell
District 76
Phone:  (985)646-6487 pearsonk@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent) and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. J. Rogers Pope, R-Denham Springs
District 71
Phone:  (225) 667-3588  rpope@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Stephen Pugh, R-Ponchatoula
District 73
Phone:  (985)386-7844  pughs@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent) and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Steve Pylant, R-Winnsboro
District 26
Phone:  (318) 435-7313  pylants@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Eugene Reynolds, D-Minden
District 10
Phone: (318)371-3092 reynoldsg@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes on 3/4/18 (1/4 cent) and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. Jerome “Dee” Richard, I-Thibodaux
District 55
Phone:  (985) 447-0999  richardj@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

Rep. Clay Schexnayder, R-Gonzales
District 81
Phone:  (225) 473-6016  schexnayderc@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent) and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

Rep. Robert Shadoin, R-Ruston
District 12
Phone:  (318) 251-5038  shadoinr@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes ALL THREE TIMES on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent), 3/4/18 (1/4 cent), and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

Rep. Shadoin also sponsored an amendment on the 1/3 bill to make it 1/2 cent.  It was defeated 40-58.

 

Rep. Joseph Stagni, R-Kenner
District 92
Phone:  (504) 465-3479 stagnij@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes ALL THREE TIMES on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent), 3/4/18 (1/4 cent), and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

 

Rep. John Stefanski, R-Crowley
District 42
Phone:  (337) 384-8999  stefanskij@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

Rep. Julie Stokes, R-Kenner
District 79
Phone:  (504)468-8603 stokesj@legis.la.gov

Voted Yes on 2/28/18.

Declared a member of AFP’s taker’s dozen.

Has declared as a candidate for Secretary of State.  

 

 

Rep. Major Thibaut, D-New Roads
District 18
Phone:  (225)638-3811 thibautm@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes ALL THREE TIMES on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent), 3/4/18 (1/4 cent), and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

Rep. Polly Thomas, R-Metairie
District 80
Phone:  504-83POLLY (837-6559)  thomaspj@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes ALL THREE TIMES on 2/28/18 (1/4 cent), 3/4/18 (1/4 cent), and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

Rep. Malinda White, D-Bogalusa
District 75
Phone:  (985) 730-2147  whitema@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 3/4/18 (1/4 cent) and 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

 

Rep. Jerome Zeringue, R-Houma
District 52
Phone:  (985) 876-8823  zeringuej@legis.la.gov 

Voted Yes on 5/25/18 (1/3 cent).

Final tally by party affiliation:

 

February 28, 2018 vote:

Democrat       4
Independent   1
Republican    33

TOTAL        38 (there were 67 “no” votes.)

 

March 4, 2018 vote:

Democrat      12
Independent   2
Republican    19

TOTAL        33 (there were 70 “no” votes.)

 

May 25, 2018 vote:

Democrat       21
Independent     3
Republican     40

TOTAL        64 (there were 38 “no” votes.)

 

If you would like to be added to our Sound Off Louisiana email list to be notified of future Sound Off posts, simply scroll to the very bottom of this page (mobile devices) or to the end of the right-hand column (desktops) and supply your email address within the subscribe box.  You’ll then receive an automated email from Word Press, and all you have to do is click on the blue “confirm follow” bar contained within that email, and you’ll begin receiving great posts such as the preceding one above. 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.