First edition of Republican Wall of Shame (RWS) issued with 23 Republican state legislators itemized for supporting 40% license fee increase for cosmetologists notwithstanding years of mass corruption and obstruction of job opportunities by the Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology.

Rep. Robert Johnson, D-Marksville, sponsor of HB-491

 

Today’s Sound Off Louisiana feature entails our issuance of the first edition of the Republican Wall of Shame (RWS), which is comprised of 23 Republicans (and two Independents):


RWS:  Edition 1.  Republicans who supported a 40% license fee increase for licensing cosmetologists notwithstanding the corruption and job-obstructionist acts linked below.

Support Links for Historical Corruption and Job Obstruction Acts by Louisiana Cosmetology Board:

 

  1. Massive legal fees to resolve Vietnamese discrimination litigation during which Federal Judge Brian Jackson openly stated, “Constitutional rights were clearly violated.”  [Additional reference:  former Congressman Joseph Cao lambasts the Cosmetology Board for recklessly disregarding search and seizure rights entailing Vietnamese manicurists].

 

  1. More massive legal fees entailing litigation regarding eyebrow threaders.

 

  1. For two consecutive years, thwarting Rep. Julie Emerson’s initiatives to permit hair braiders to practice with no license and, in fact, openly cheering Sen. Regina Barrow’s initiative to impose MORE licensing requirements on hair braiders! They did this notwithstanding the fact that the governor who appointed them, Gov. John Bel Edwards, openly supported Emerson’s initiative!

 

  1. A Board employee, Winn Johnson, routinely selling answers to the cosmetology licensing exam for $500/pop.

 

  1. Closing down Jennifer Menard’s mobile salon, which was a huge benefit for residents of assisted living facilities for obtaining hairstyling.

 

  1. Having done absolutely NOTHING about licensed instructor Kevin Martin’s permitting unauthorized “observers” on to a public school campus in Lafayette Parish (with it having been stated these unauthorized “observers” may have been charged $5,000 “cash under the table” in exchange for him allowing them to “observe” these courses and take the cosmetology licensing examination).

 

Louisiana Republican (23) and Independent (2) state Representatives voting FOR HB-491 on 4/10/18 vote (i.e. Sound Off Louisiana’s FIRST REPUBLICAN WALL OF SHAME):


(Red indicates Representative is term-limited and cannot run for re-election in 2019).

 

CLICK HERE to ascertain whom your Louisiana State Representative and Louisiana Senator are if you’re not sure.  All you have to do is supply the brief requested information.  Thereafter, you can request your polling location and also whom your elected officials are.

Rep. Tony Bacala, R-Prairieville, District 59, Phone:  (225) 677-8020   bacalat@legis.la.gov 

 

Rep. Taylor Barras (House Speaker), R-New Iberia, District 48, Phone:  (337)373-4051  barrast@legis.la.gov

 

Rep. John Berthelot, R-Gonzales, District 88, Phone:  (225) 647-5646  berthelotj@legis.la.gov

Rep. Terry Brown, I-Colfax, District 22 Phone:  (855) 261-6566  browntr@legis.la.gov

Rep. Steve Carter, R-Baton Rouge, District 68, Phone:  (225) 362-5305  carters@legis.la.gov 

Rep. Charles Chaney, R-Rayville, District 19, Phone:  (318) 728-5875 chaneyb@legis.la.gov

Rep. Greg Cromer, R-Slidell, District 90, Phone:  (985) 645-3592 cromerg@legis.la.gov

 

Rep. Paula Davis, R-Baton Rouge, District 69, Phone:  (225) 362-5301  davisp@legis.la.gov

 

Rep. Franklin Foil, R-Baton Rouge, District 70, Phone:  (225) 342-6777 foilf@legis.la.gov

 

Rep. Lance Harris, R-Alexandria, District 25, Phone:  (318) 767-6095  harrisl@legis.la.gov

Rep. Kenneth Havard, R-Jackson, District 62, Phone:  (225) 634-7470  havardk@legis.la.gov

Rep. Lowell “Chirs” Hazel, R-Pineville, District 27, Phone:  (318) 767-6082  hazelc@legis.la.gov

Rep. Stephanie Hilferty, R-Metairie, District 94, Phone:  (504) 885-4154 hilfertys@legis.la.gov

Rep. Frank Hoffmann, R-West Monore, District 15, Phone:  (318) 362-4130  hoffmannf@legis.la.gov

Rep. Paul Hollis, R-Covington, District 104, Phone:  (985) 871-4680   hollisp@legis.la.gov

Rep. Mike Huval, R-Breaux Bridge, District 46, Phone:  (337) 332-3331   huvalm@legis.la.gov

 

Rep. Christopher Leopold, R-Belle Chase, District 105, Phone:  (504) 393-5649  leopoldc@legis.la.gov 

 

Rep. Tanner McGee, R-Houma, District 53, Phone:  (985) 858-2970 mageet@legis.la.gov 

 

Rep. Joseph Marino, I-Gretna, District 85, Phone:  (504) 361-6013 marinoj@legis.la.gov 

 

Rep. Jack McFarland, R-Jonesboro, District 13, Phone:  (318) 259-4275  mcfarlandj@legis.la.gov

 

Rep. Kevin Pearson, R-Slidell, District 76, Phone:  (985) 646-6487 pearsonk@legis.la.gov

 

Rep. Clay Schexnayder, R-Gonzales, District 81, Phone:  (225) 473-6016  schexnayderc@legis.la.gov

 

Rep. Joseph Stagni, R-Kenner, District 92, Phone:  (504)465-3479 stagnij@legis.la.gov

 

Rep. Julie Stokes, R-Kenner, District 79, Phone:  (504) 468-8603 stokesj@legis.la.gov

Rep. Jerome Zeringue, R-Houma, District 52, Phone:  (985) 876-8823 zeringuej@legis.la.gov

 

Sound Off Louisiana’s FIRST Corresponding DEMOCRATIC WALL OF PRAISE):

 

Rep. Marcus Hunter, D-Monroe, District 17, Phone:  (318) 362-3440 hunterm@legis.la.gov

Rep. Jerome Richard, I-Thibodaux, District 55, Phone:  (985) 447-0999 richardj@legis.la.gov

 

If you would like to be added to our Sound Off Louisiana email list to be notified of future Sound Off posts, simply scroll to the very bottom of this page (mobile devices) or to the end of the right-hand column (desktops) and supply your email address within the subscribe box.  You’ll then receive an automated email from Word Press, and all you have to do is click on the blue “confirm follow” bar contained within that email, and you’ll begin receiving great posts such as the preceding one above.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.