20 Republicans and 1 Democrat inducted into Louisiana Legislature Hall of Excellence for steadfast opposition toward sales tax increases throughout 2018 legislative sessions.

Today’s Sound Off Louisiana feature entails a Louisiana Legislature Wall of Excellence for the 20 Republican members and one Democrat member of the Louisiana Legislature who voted “no” on every sales tax measure throughout the 2018 sessions:

 

Louisiana Legislature Hall of Excellence outlined by Sound Off Louisiana founder Robert Burns.

 

 

Rep. Beryl Amedee, R-Houma, District 51, Phone:  (985) 858-2967    amedeeb@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2024.

 

Rep. Raymond Crews, R-Bossier City, District 8, Phone:  (318) 716-7532  crewsr@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2024.

 

Rep. Rick Edmonds, R-Baton Rouge, District 66, Phone:  (225) 295-9240  edmondsr@legis.la.gov 
Final Term:  2024.

 

Rep. Julie Emerson, R-Carencro, District 39, Phone:  (337) 886-4687    emersonj@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2024.

 

Rep. Reid Falconer, R-Mandeville, District 89, Phone:  (985) 792-5185    falconerr@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2024.

 

Rep. Raymond Garofalo, Jr., R-Chalmette, District 103, Phone:  (504) 277-4729    garofalor@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2020.

 


Rep. Cameron Henry, R-Metairie, District 82, Phone:  (504) 838-5433    henryc@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2016.

 

Sen. Sharon Hewitt, R-Slidell, District 1, Phone:  (985) 646-6490    hewitts@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2024.

CLICK HERE for a great feature article in The Hayride on Sen. Hewitt’s Senate Floor speech on “the burden on the everyday taxpayer,” which is complete with a video of her speech.

 

 

Rep. Valarie Hodges, R-Denham Springs, District 64, Phone:  (225) 791-2199  hodgesv@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2020.

 

Rep. Dotie Horton, R-Haughton, District 9, Phone:  (318) 949-2463  hortond@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2024.

 

Rep. Barry Ivey, R-Central, District 65, Phone:  (225) 261-5739  iveyb@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2020.

CLICK HERE for the feature referencing Rep. Ivey’s assistance on recognizing the problematic nature of the Louisiana Auctioneer Licensing Board.

 

Rep. Sherman Mack, R-Albany, District 95, Phone:  (985) 567-3677    macks@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2020.

 

 

Rep. Blake Miguez, R-Erath, District 49, Phone:  (337) 937-8827    miguezb@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2024.

 

 

Sen. John Milkovich, D-Shreveport, District 38, Phone:  (318) 676-7877    milkovichj@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2024.

CLICK HERE for the feature referencing Sen. Milkovich’s assistance on recognizing the problematic nature of the Louisiana Auctioneer Licensing Board.

 

 

 

Sen. Beth Mizell, R-Franklinton, District 12, Phone:  (985) 839-7714   mizellb@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2024.

 

 

Rep. Jay Morris, R-Monroe, District 14, Phone:  (318) 362-4270  morrisjc@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2020.

 

Sen. Jonathan Perry, R-Kaplan, District 26, Phone:  (337) 643-6425   perryj@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2020.

 

Sen. Neil Riser, R-Columbia, District 32, Phone:  (318) 649-0977   risern@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2016.

 

Rep. Alan Seabaugh, R-Shreveport, District 5, Phone:  (318) 676-7990  seabaugha@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2020.

CLICK HERE for Rep. Seabaugh’s “fire and brimstone sermonette” entailing the 2017 attempted gas tax increase (second feature).

 

Rep. Kirk Talbot, R-River Ridge, District 78, Phone:  (504) 736-7299    talbotk@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2016.

 

 

Rep. Mark Wright, R-Covington, District 77, Phone:  (985) 893-6262     wrightm@legis.la.gov
Final Term:  2024.

If you would like to be added to our Sound Off Louisiana email list to be notified of future Sound Off posts, simply scroll to the very bottom of this page (mobile devices) or to the end of the right-hand column (desktops) and supply your email address within the subscribe box.  You’ll then receive an automated email from Word Press, and all you have to do is click on the blue “confirm follow” bar contained within that email, and you’ll begin receiving great posts such as the preceding one above. 

2 thoughts on “20 Republicans and 1 Democrat inducted into Louisiana Legislature Hall of Excellence for steadfast opposition toward sales tax increases throughout 2018 legislative sessions.”

  1. You know my thoughts on Seabaugh. Seabaugh is all pit bull and no ideas. Crews is one of the least informed members of the house. Edmonds is a phony Baptist preacher and Mike Johnson tool. He went out on a limb and exposed himself as a phony fighting the Gatti prayer bill. John Milkovich is a total surprise. He is a throwback Democrat that believes in prayer in schools, fighting corruption, and cutting taxes. Love him. And Barry Ivey is a super star.

    I realize you’re anti-tax. But we can barely make our basic budget. We have terrible roads and infrastructure, failing schools, and no tax base. We need to get serious about weeding out corruption. That includes the corporate welfare Seabaugh helped his boy Jindal hand. It’s at least $3B and estimates as high as $9B. We need to limit the rate of growth of this budget to zero for a few years. And we need to invest in schools, infrastructure, and jobs. Otherwise we are sunk as a state.

  2. I’d like to get a clearer picture of what Ryan calls Corporate welfare. Is it an investment that pays out in ways that are difficult
    to define? For example in the film industry, which pays high salaries, whose people put that money into the community or is it
    like making allowances for Oil wells which didn’t come in?
    We do have failing schools but we are in the middle of what other states pay for schools. We are just not getting as good results
    as other states do.Money is not the cure. IMO, unless we have a complete examination of all aspects of our education components
    there will not be any improvement.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.